SVA Award Fund

The Russell J. Efros Memorial Award Fund was established at The School of Visual Arts in 2018 in memory of alumnus Russell J. Efros (BFA 2014 Film and Video). Established by The Russell J. Efros Foundation, the spirit of the award is to assist a student who exhibits excellence and promise as an emerging artist and filmmaker.

This $1,000 award is designated annually to recognize a fourth-year undergraduate film student’s thesis project. The award process is overseen by the School of Visual Arts BFA Film department.

Visit to learn more about The Russell J. Efros Memorial Award Fund. 

2021 Recipient: Rianne Pyle

Thesis Project: FREEDOM DAY
FREEDOM DAY tells the story of the three founders of The Freedom Day Foundation, a small grassroots organization that fights for racial and social equality.

2020 Recipient: Julia Ward

Thesis Project: Panic Never Pays
The film chronicles Julia’s family’s unusual experience during 9/11 and after.

2019 Recipient: Sage Love

The film is an award winning documentary film that recounts the history of the Haitian Revolution while shedding light on the corruption behind the aftermath of Haiti’s 2010 earthquake.